recreation, nature reserve and wild river. The following are examples of each class: Polar Bear provincial park, occupying 24087 km<sup>2</sup> in the Hudson Bay lowland bordering Hudson Bay and James Bay, is a primitive park containing boreal forest, tundra and arctic flora and fauna. Algonquin provincial park, a natural environment park, has 17 picnic and camping areas accessible by car and 7537 km<sup>2</sup> offering canoeing and hiking opportunities. In Southern Ontario, the recreational park Bronte Creek provincial park provides tennis courts, man-made swimming lake, outdoor artificial skating rink, toboggan hill and bike paths, hiking and cross-country ski trails. Ouimet Canyon, a nature reserve park, preserves a 150-metre wide, 100-metre deep canyon in which arctic plants flourish, kilometres from their usual habitat. The Mattawa wild river park follows 40 km of an old Indian and voyageur route.

In 1977 there were 11 million visitors to provincial parks including 1.5 million campers using 20,000 campsites.

**Manitoba.** The parks branch of the tourism, recreation and cultural affairs department was established in 1966. It is responsible for the administration and management of 12 provincial natural parks, 45 provincial recreation parks, two provincial heritage parks, 104 provincial wayside parks and numerous special use parks, all of which comprise over 10 230 square kilometres. The basic objective of the parks branch is to constitute, establish and maintain a system of resource-based parks and related land-use areas for the use, benefit, health, enjoyment, recreation and education of Manitoba citizens and visitors to the province.

Saskatchewan. The Saskatchewan park system was established in 1931 when Duck Mountain, Cypress Hills and Moose Mountain became the first provincial parks. Today 17 provincial parks represent all regions in the province and are classified for development as wilderness, natural environment or recreation. The social importance of outdoor recreation and culture is reflected in regional and historic parks. Regional parks were designed to fulfil the outdoor recreational aspirations of communities; there are 96 of these throughout southern Saskatchewan. Nine historic parks are monuments to early trade, conflict and settlement of the territory.

Alberta. Provincial parks first came into existence in Alberta in 1932 under the jurisdiction of a provincial parks board. In 1964, Alberta Parks emerged as a separate division with its own director. Provincial park resources are now administered by a provincial parks branch and consist of 54 provincial parks, six natural areas, and the three wilderness areas of Whitegoat, Siffleur, and Ghost River, along with Willmore wilderness park which is administered by the energy and natural resources department. Major provincial parks include Kananaskis, Cypress Hills, Dinosaur, Lesser Slave Lake and Writing-on-Stone.

**British Columbia.** At the end of 1977 British Columbia had 320 parks, 22 recreation areas, and one wilderness conservancy, totalling 4 531 562 hectares in area. BC's park system began in 1911 with the establishment of Strathcona provincial park, 231 384 hectares, in central Vancouver Island. Since then the park system has steadily expanded to include vast wilderness areas, camping and picnicking sites, downhill and cross-country ski areas, a comprehensive marine park system, historic parks and sites, a famous canoe circuit, wildlife sanctuaries, and outstanding examples of the province's physical features. In 1977 there were 9.5 million visits to the parks.

## The national capital region

Canada's capital lies on the Ottawa River below the Chaudière Falls and just above the confluence of the Rideau and Gatineau rivers. Ottawa comes from Outaouac or Outaouais, an Indian tribe from Lake Huron which traded with the French in the 17th century.

The United Province of Canada, following its formation in 1841, shuttled its capital among Kingston, Toronto, Montreal and Quebec while trying to agree on a permanent site. Queen Victoria settled the dispute by choosing Ottawa in 1858. In 1866 the government of the Province of Canada moved to Ottawa. The next year the Parliament of the new Dominion of Canada met for the first time.

## 1.5.3